Back to the Top ^
Home    /    Instructional Design, Quality Matters Monday

Quality Matters Monday: Standard 3.2

Submitted by on June 29, 2015 – 9:00 amNo Comment

QMIt’s Quality Matters Monday! Each Monday, we highlight a Quality Matters standard and review its importance in an online course and how we evaluate this standard.

Today, we are reviewing Quality Matters Standards 3.2.

General Standard 3 addresses the inclusion of assessments that evaluate learner progress in achieving the stated learning objectives or mastering the competencies.

Click here to view Quality Matters Standard 3.2 in the Quality Matters Rubric. This standard specifically addresses the inclusion of a clearly stated grading policy.

It is important to include a clear grading policy at the beginning of the course so that there is no confusion in how course grades are calculated. Not only should the points, percentages, and weights for each component of the course grade be clearly stated, but also the relationship(s) between points, percentages, weights, and letter grades should be clearly stated.

While reviewing your grading policy, be sure that it includes a clear explanation and presentation to the learner. Additionally, look for the following:

  1. A list of all activities, tests, etc., that will determine the final grade.
  2. An explanation of the relationship between the final course letter grade and the learner’s accumulated points and/or percentages.
  3. An explanation of the relationship between points and percentages, if both are used.
  4. A clearly stated policy on point deductions for assignments submitted late.

In our demo course, BUSN 7000 Start-Ups: Venturing Into Entrepreneurship, you can find the clearly stated grading policy in the syllabus.

QM Standard 3.2

QM Standard 3.2 2

Click here to access Quality Matters eLearning Marketplace. The Quality Matters eLearning Marketplace is a free, searchable database built to serve the broad QM community with an easy-to-use eLearning product/service directory organized within the 8 general standards of the rubric as well as by user and product categories.

Comments are closed.